The Government of India Act, 1935

  • The Act was based on 2 basic principles, federation and parliamentary system.
  • Provided for the establishment of an All India federation consisting of the British Provinces and the Princely States.
  • The joining of Princely States was voluntary and as a result the federation did not come into existence.
  • Dyarchy was introduced at the Centre- eg. department of Foreign Affairs and Defence were reserved for the Governor General.
  • Provincial autonomy replaced Dyarchy in provinces. They were granted separate legal identity.
  • It made a three fold division of powers- Federal, Provincial and concurrent lists.
  • Residuary powers were to be with the Governor General.
  • The India Council of Secretary of State for India was abolished.
  • Principle of separate electorate was extended to include Anglo-Indians, Indian Christians and Europeans.
  • A Federal Court was to be constituted with a chief justice and 10 other judges. This was set up in 1937.
  • Sind and Orissa were created.
  • Franchise was based on property qualifications.
SEE ALL Add a note
Add your Comment

Recent Posts

About Us

Ekalawya, the online guru is there it help with its extensive base of most repeated questions and answers covering all areas of interest. We keep updating too, so that no major developments are lost from our current affairs scanner.
© Ekalawya | Built and hosted by Jyothis Joy

© 2013, All rights reserved.