The Government of India Act, 1919

  • Popularly known as Montague-Chelmsford Reforms
  • The idea of ‘Responsible Government’ was emphasised upon.
  • Devolution Rules: Subjects of administration were divided into two categories- ‘Central’ and ‘Provincial’. Subjects of all India importance like railways and finance were brought under the category of Central, while matters relating to the administration of the provinces were classified as provincial.
  • Dyarchy system introduced in the Provinces.
  • The Provincial subjects of administration were to be divided into two categories ‘Transferred’ and ‘Reserved’ subjects.
  • The Transferred subjects were to be administered by the Governor with the aid of Ministers responsible to the Legislative Council.
  • The Governor and his Executive Council were to administer the reserved subjects such as rail, post, telegraph, finance, law and order, etc. without any responsibility to the legislature.
  • An office of the High commissioner of India was created in London.
  • Indian legislature became bicameral for the first time.
  • Communal representation extended to Sikhs.
  • Secretary of State for India now to be paid from British revenue.
SEE ALL Add a note
Add your Comment

Recent Posts

About Us

Ekalawya, the online guru is there it help with its extensive base of most repeated questions and answers covering all areas of interest. We keep updating too, so that no major developments are lost from our current affairs scanner.
© Ekalawya | Built and hosted by Jyothis Joy

© 2013, All rights reserved.