Anglo Sikh Wars

  • Began after the death of Ranjit Singh in 1839.
  • First war (1845-46). Sikhs were defeated in all the four battles at Mudki, Feroz Shah, Aliwal and Sobraon. Treaty of Lahore ended the war. Sir Henry Lawerence became the first resident.
  • Secon war (1948-49) Dalhausie annexed Punjab. Sir John Lawerence became the first Chief Commissioner of the Punjab.
SEE ALL Add a note
Add your Comment

Recent Posts

  • Virtual SEZ

    A virtual SEZ is one where export oriented units (EOUs) can avail of benefits...

  • July Package

    Package of Doha Development Agenda issues negotiated in July, 2004 and agreed...

  • MR Jayakar

    A moderate Congress leader and member of the Congress Committee to enquire into...

Course Categories

Skip to toolbar