Anglo Mysore Wars

  • First war (1766-69). Haider Ali defeated the British. Treaty of Madras signed.
  • Second war (1780-84). Warren Hastings attacked French port Mahe, which was in Hyder Ali’s territory.
  • Hyder Ali led a joint front with Nizam and Marathas and captured Arcot.
  • In 1781, Hyder Ali was defeated at Porto Novo by Eyre Coot.
  • Treaty of Mangalore (1784) signed by Tipu Sultan.
  • Third War (1789-92). Marathas and Nizam aided the British, Cornwallis captured Bangalore. By Treaty of Seringapatanam, Tipu ceded half of his territories.
  • Fourth War (1799). Lord Wellesley attacked and Tipu died.
SEE ALL Add a note
Add your Comment

Recent Posts

  • Virtual SEZ

    A virtual SEZ is one where export oriented units (EOUs) can avail of benefits...

  • July Package

    Package of Doha Development Agenda issues negotiated in July, 2004 and agreed...

  • MR Jayakar

    A moderate Congress leader and member of the Congress Committee to enquire into...

Course Categories

Skip to toolbar