Important Battles in Indian History


1707: Battle of Khed. Tara Bai defeated by Shahu.

1739: Battle of Karnal. The Mughal army defeated by Nadir Shah.

1740: Battle of Gharia. Fought between Sarfaraz Khan, Nawab of Bengal and Alivardi Khan was killed.

1746-48: First Carnatic war. Fought between French and British forces. Madras was captured by French but returned to the English by the Treaty of Aix-la-Chappalle. It is famous for the battle of St.Thome, in which a small French army defeated the Nawab’s large force.

1749-54: Second Carnatic War. Initially the French under Dupleix had some successes but at last the English got a hold.

1758-63: Third Carnatic War. French captured Fort St David in 1758, but suffered badly at Wandiwash (1760).

1757: Battle of Plassey. The English forces under Robert Clive defeated the army of Siraj-ud-daula.

1761: Third battle of Panipat. Marathas were defeated by Ahmad Shah Abdali.

1746: Battle of Buxar, the English under Munro defeated Mir Qasim, the Nawab of Bengal, Shuja-ud-daula, Nawab of Avadh and Shah Alam II, the Mughal emperor.

1767-69: First Anglo-Mysore war. Contested between Haider Ali and the British.

1770: Battle of Udgir. The Nizam was defeated by the Marathas.

1775: Battle of Sindkhed between the Marathas and the Nizam. The Nizam was forced to surrender some territories.

1752-82: First Anglo- Maratha war. The British army was defeated. The humiliating convention of Wadgoan (1779) concluded. Peace was at last restored by the Treaty of Salbai (1782).

1780-84: Second Anglo-Mysore war. Haider Ali died in the battle (1782) and the field was taken by his son Tipu Sultan. The war was concluded by the Treaty of Manglore (1784).

1789-92: Third Anglo-Mysore war. Tipu Sultan was defeated (1792). The war came to a close with the Treaty of Seringapatam.

1799: Fourth Anglo-Mysore war. Tipu died fighting.

1803-06: Second Anglo-Maratha War. The Marathas were defeated by the British.

1814-16: Nepalese war. Between the English and Gurkhas. The war came to an end with the Treaty of Sagauli.

1817-19: Third Anglo-Maratha war. The Marathas were badly defeated by the British.

1824-26: First Anglo-Burmese war. The British defeated the Burmese. Peace was restored by the Treaty of Yandahboo.

1839-42: First Anglo-Afghan War. The Afghan ruler Dost Muhammad was defeated by the  English.

1845-46: First Anglo-Sikh war. The Sikhs were defeated by the English. The war was ended by the Treaty of Lahore.

1848-49: Second Anglo-Sikh war. Sikhs were defeated and Punjab was annexed by the British.

1852: Second Anglo-Burmese War. The English was successful.

1865: Third Anglo-Burmese war. The English annexed Burma.

1878-80: Second Anglo-Afghan war. The English suffered losses.

1919-21: Third Anglo-Afghan war. The English though victorious did not benefit from the war.


| | | |

  • FREE
  • 10 Days

Recent Posts

About Us

Ekalawya, the online guru is there it help with its extensive base of most repeated questions and answers covering all areas of interest. We keep updating too, so that no major developments are lost from our current affairs scanner.
© Ekalawya | Built and hosted by Jyothis Joy

© 2013, All rights reserved.