Development of Education

  • Warren Hastings set up the Calcutta Madrasa in 1781 for the study of Arabic and Persian.
  • The Asiatic Society of Bengal was founded by Sir William Jones in Calcutta in 1784.
  • Jonathan Cuncan, the resident at Benares started the Sanskrit College in 1791.
  • Lord Welleslley started the Fort William College in 1800 for the training of Civil Servants, which the court of Directors closed in 1802.
  • The Charter Act of 1813, was the first to provide an annual expenditure of one lakh rupees ‘for the revival and promotion of literature.’
  • David Hare and Raja Rammohan Roy were instrumental in setting up the Calcutta Hindu College in 1817. Which later developed into the Presidency College.
  • Lord William Bentick, in the Resolution of 7 March 1835, accepted Macualays viewpoint which led to the promotion of European science and literature.

Sir Charles Wood Despatch 1854

The Hunter Education Commission 1882-83

The Raleigh Commission 1902

The Indian Universities Act 1904

Sadler Commission 1917-19

Wardha Scheme

Sargeant Plan of Education 1944


| | | |



  • FREE
  • 10 Days

Recent Posts

About Us

Ekalawya, the online guru is there it help with its extensive base of most repeated questions and answers covering all areas of interest. We keep updating too, so that no major developments are lost from our current affairs scanner.
© Ekalawya | Built and hosted by Jyothis Joy

© 2013, All rights reserved.